The Nobel Prize committee has announced winners of the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday for their work in understanding how the universe has evolved.

Three scientists – James Peebles “for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology,” and the other half jointly to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz “for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star,” were awarded for their work in cosmology.

An exoplanet is a planet outside the solar system.

Secretary-General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Professor Goran Hansson credited the trio for their “contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe, and Earth’s place in the cosmos.”

The prize comes with a 9-million kronor ($918,000) cash award to be shared a gold medal and a diploma. The laureates receive them at an elegant ceremony in Stockholm on December 10, the anniversary of the death of prize founder Alfred Nobel in 1896, together with five other Nobel winners. The sixth one, which is the peace prize, is handed out in Oslo, Norway on the same day.

Nobel, a Swedish industrialist and the inventor of dynamite, decided the physics, chemistry, medicine and literature prizes should be awarded in Stockholm, and the peace prize in Oslo.

This was the 113th Nobel Prize in Physics awarded since 1901, of which 47 awards have been given to a single laureate. Only three women have been awarded it so far: Marie Curie in 1903, Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963 and Donna Strickland in 2018, according to the Nobel website.

On Monday, Americans William G. Kaelin Jr. and Gregg L. Semenza and Britain’s Peter J. Ratcliffe won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine, for their discovery of how body’s cells sense and react to low oxygen levels, providing a foothold for developing new treatments for anemia, cancer and other diseases.


The Nobel Prize for Chemistry will be announced on Wednesday, two Literature Prizes will be awarded on Thursday, and the Peace Prize comes Friday.

This year will see two literature Prizes handed out because the previous year was suspended after a scandal rocked the Swedish Academy.